EN
FR

" The media are a powerful force in shaping how we see the world, what we think, and often how we act. They should be an example of gender equality, depicting women in diverse jobs and situations and representing women in all areas of coverage."

Secrétaire générale adjointe de l’ONU et directrice exécutive d’ONU Femmes, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka.

Projet Mondial de Monitorage des Medias (GMMP) 2015

Our History

 

 

Directed by Anastasia Mikova and Yann Arthus-Bertrand, the film WOMAN aims at giving women a voice with 2000 interviews conducted in more than 50 countries. To further pursue the work they began with this project, the creative duo and their team have decided to found an NGO, WOMAN(s), which stands for Women On Media And in News School. Its goal is to support the voice of women and young girls in the media.

 

 

Working in close collaboration with Anastasia Mikova and Yann Arthus-Bertrand, talented women journalists and their local crew have interviewed women around the world during more than 2 years. Extensive exchanges with these local crews have enabled us to measure the lack of opportunities available for women and girls to pursue a career in the audiovisual industry, and to realize how important it was that women themselves should be able to carry their message to the general public.

 

 

Both the media industry and civil society acknowledge how necessary it is for news content to reflect the diversity of the communities they cover and that the presence of female journalists and editors in the newsroom matters greatly when it comes to balancing their reporting. An increasing number of women in decision-making positions in the media, but also at all levels of organisation, is one of the key strategies for promoting gender equality in the media.

 

 

It is from this observation—and thanks to the experience of shooting in so many locations throughout the making of WOMAN—that the desire to create the association WOMAN(s) was born, in order to further support the expression of women through their empowerment within the media sector.

Our History

 

 

Directed by Anastasia Mikova and Yann Arthus-Bertrand, the film WOMAN aims at giving women a voice with 2000 interviews conducted in more than 50 countries. To further pursue the work they began with this project, the creative duo and their team have decided to found an NGO, WOMAN(s), which stands for Women On Media And in News School. Its goal is to support the voice of women and young girls in the media.

 

Working in close collaboration with Anastasia Mikova and Yann Arthus-Bertrand, talented women journalists and their local crew have interviewed women around the world during more than 2 years. Extensive exchanges with these local crews have enabled us to measure the lack of opportunities available for women and girls to pursue a career in the audiovisual industry, and to realize how important it was that women themselves should be able to carry their message to the general public.

 

Both the media industry and civil society acknowledge how necessary it is for news content to reflect the diversity of the communities they cover and that the presence of female journalists and editors in the newsroom matters greatly when it comes to balancing their reporting. An increasing number of women in decision-making positions in the media, but also at all levels of organisation, is one of the key strategies for promoting gender equality in the media.

 

It is from this observation—and thanks to the experience of shooting in so many locations throughout the making of WOMAN—that the desire to create the association WOMAN(s) was born, in order to further support the expression of women through their empowerment within the media sector.

Our Mission

We want to help women and girls around the world to be able to train for a career in the media and film industries. Our association’s mission is to support these women and girls throughout the course of their studies and accompany their pursuit of a professional career in the audiovisual sector as well as to help them establish ties within local, national and international networks and media outlets.

Our Vision

We have a vision for a world where the media industry is inclusive and representative, where female journalists, directors and producers can freely exercise their profession, where they can carry the voices of women, as well as their own, to the general public.

Why support women and girls pursuing careers in the media?

Because...

...the way women are portrayed in the news has a profound impact on social behaviours, in addition to reinforcing the roles traditionally assigned to men and women.

Because...

...increasing the number of female reporters, who currently account for only 37% (global average) of newsroom staff assigned to this position, could likely boost the proportion of stories focused on women, which in turn could enable women to enjoy more freedom of expression in the public sphere.

Because...

...gender discrimination deprives media coverage of the richness of women’s diverse viewpoints and lessens the appeal of media to increasingly conscious global audiences.

Values and Objectives

The association WOMAN(s) is an apolitical and non-confessional independent organisation; it is committed to promoting access to education for women and girls wishing to pursue a career in the media and the audiovisual sector. It wants to encourage and promote the professionalization of these women and girls, and allow them to train in order to enter the world of media.

Convinced that women have an important role to play in the transformation of the audiovisual world towards a more diverse, equitable and inclusive space, we want to strengthen their voice, give them access to key positions in the sector and contribute to the creation of cultural events and networks that support gender equality.

To do so, woman(s) sets itself
2 short and medium term objectives:

Develop, promote and strengthen the skills of women and girls so that they may have access to all the professions in the media industry.
Facilitate exchanges between our members and partners so that they may share their skills and experience.

And in the long term:

Defending and demonstrating the importance of women and gender equality in the media and other professions in France, in the United States, in Europe and internationally.
BAST8116

Training organisations

To begin its action, WOMAN(s) has decided to focus its efforts on 5 countries: France, South Africa, Brazil, India and Lebanon. The targeted beneficiaries are women and girls wishing to study in order to pursue a career in the audiovisual industry. We will prioritize disadvantaged women from modest social backgrounds with minimal education levels. Multi-stakeholder committees—composed of members of academic institutions, representatives of civil society organisations and media professionals—will be created to select beneficiaries and monitor each country’s projects.

The changes we want to see

We hope to contribute to:

A WORLD WHERE THE AUDIOVISUAL SECTOR HAS MOVED TOWARDS MORE GENDER EQUALITY,

where many women from all walks of life hold editorial and technical positions in television, radio and film.

A WORLD WHERE WOMEN’S NEWS CAN BE BROADCAST BY THOSE MOST DIRECTLY CONCERNED,

where women cover political and scientific issues just as much as men.

A WORLD WHERE WOMEN ARE SEEN FOR THEIR ABILITIES AS NEWSCASTERS AND REPORTERS,

beyond their age or physical appearance.

A WORLD WHERE WOMEN’S VOICES ARE GIVEN FULL SCOPE AND LEGITIMACY

to influence social norms and promote gender equality in all social, professional and academic spheres.

Make a donation

CORPORATE DONATION

CORPORATE DONATION

 
Select Payment Method
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: 100,00€ One Time

{amount} donation plus {fee_amount} to help cover fees.

INDIVIDUAL DONATION

INDIVIDUAL DONATION

 
Select Payment Method
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: 100,00€ One Time

{amount} donation plus {fee_amount} to help cover fees.

If you have any questions, our donor service is at your disposal to answer.

EN
FR

" Les médias constituent une force puissante qui façonne la manière dont nous percevons le monde, ce que nous pensons et fréquemment, la façon dont nous agissons. Ils devraient être un exemple d’égalité entre les genres, dépeignant les femmes dans une diversité d’emplois et de situations et représentant les femmes dans tous les domaines couverts par les actualités."

Secrétaire générale adjointe de l’ONU et directrice exécutive d’ONU Femmes, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka.

Projet Mondial de Monitorage des Medias (GMMP) 2015

L’Histoire

 

 

Dans le prolongement du film WOMAN réalisé par Anastasia Mikova et Yann Arthus-Bertrand, qui donne la parole aux femmes à travers 2000 interviews réalisées dans plus de 50 pays, le duo et leur équipe ont souhaité créer l’association WOMAN(s) – Women On Media And in News School – pour soutenir la voix des femmes et des jeunes filles dans les médias.

 

 

Pendant plus de 2 ans, accompagnées par Anastasia Mikova et Yann Arthus-Bertrand, de talentueuses journalistes et leurs équipes locales ont interviewé des femmes dans le monde entier. Ces échanges riches avec ces équipes locales nous ont permis de constater le manque d’opportunités accessibles aux femmes, et aux jeunes filles, pour faire carrière dans l’audiovisuel ainsi que l’importance que ce soit les femmes elles-mêmes qui portent leur message auprès du grand public.

 

 

L’industrie des médias et la société civile reconnaissent à quel point il est nécessaire que le contenu des nouvelles reflète la diversité des communautés couvertes par les médias et que la présence de femmes journalistes et éditrices dans les salles de rédaction importe lorsqu’il s’agit de modifier le contenu médiatique. Le fait de compter sur plus de femmes dans les rôles décisionnels dans les médias, et à tous les échelons, constitue l’une des stratégies clés favorisant l’équité entre les genres dans les médias.

 

 

C’est à partir de ce constat et grâce aux expériences de tournages de WOMAN qu’est née la volonté de créer l’association WOMAN(s) pour continuerà encourager l’expression des femmes au travers de supports media qu’elles s’approprieraient.

L’Histoire

 

Dans le prolongement du film WOMAN réalisé par Anastasia Mikova et Yann Arthus-Bertrand, qui donne la parole aux femmes à travers 2000 interviews réalisées dans plus de 50 pays, le duo et leur équipe ont souhaité créer l’association WOMAN(s) – Women On Media And in News School – pour soutenir la voix des femmes et des jeunes filles dans les médias.

 

Pendant plus de 2 ans, accompagnées par Anastasia Mikova et Yann Arthus-Bertrand, de talentueuses journalistes et leurs équipes locales ont interviewé des femmes dans le monde entier. Ces échanges riches avec ces équipes locales nous ont permis de constater le manque d’opportunités accessibles aux femmes, et aux jeunes filles, pour faire carrière dans l’audiovisuel ainsi que l’importance que ce soit les femmes elles-mêmes qui portent leur message auprès du grand public.

 

L’industrie des médias et la société civile reconnaissent à quel point il est nécessaire que le contenu des nouvelles reflète la diversité des communautés couvertes par les médias et que la présence de femmes journalistes et éditrices dans les salles de rédaction importe lorsqu’il s’agit de modifier le contenu médiatique. Le fait de compter sur plus de femmes dans les rôles décisionnels dans les médias, et à tous les échelons, constitue l’une des stratégies clés favorisant l’équité entre les genres dans les médias.

 

C’est à partir de ce constat et grâce aux expériences de tournages de WOMAN qu’est née la volonté de créer l’association WOMAN(s) pour continuerà encourager l’expression des femmes au travers de supports media qu’elles s’approprieraient.

La Mission

Grâce aux recettes du film, au soutien de nos partenaires engagés et aux donations privées, l’association a pour mission d’aider à former des femmes et jeunes filles du monde entier aux métiers des médias et du cinéma afin qu’elles puissent à leur tour prendre la parole. Ces formations sont conduites par des instituts de formation en France et à l’étranger qui cherchent à ouvrir et nourrir la création audiovisuelle à travers le regard de populations issues de différents background et milieux sociaux.

La Vision

Notre vision est celle d’un monde de l’audiovisuel inclusif et représentatif, où des femmes et des jeunes filles journalistes, réalisatrices et productrices peuvent exercer leur métier librement et apporter leur voix ainsi que celles des autres femmes au grand public.

Pourquoi soutenir
la professionnalisation
des femmes et des jeunes filles
dans le secteur des médias ?

Parce-que...

...la manière dont les femmes sont dépeintes dans les nouvelles a des incidences profondes sur les attitudes sociétales, en plus de renforcer les rôles traditionnellement assignés aux hommes et aux femmes.

Parce-que...

...le fait d’augmenter le nombre de femmes reporters, qui représentent actuellement seulement 37 % (moyenne d’ensemble) des effectifs des salles de rédaction dans ce type de poste, pourrait probablement générer une croissance des proportions de reportages centrés sur les femmes, impliquant par ricochet un certain progrès faisant en sorte que les femmes jouissent de la liberté d’expression dans la sphère publique.

Parce-que...

...la discrimination fondée sur le genre prive la couverture médiatique de la richesse des divers points de vue des femmes et restreint l’attrait des médias auprès des auditoires de plus en plus conscientisés de la planète.

Les valeurs et objetives

L’association WOMAN(s) est une organisation apolitique, non confessionnelle, indépendante ; elle s’engage à promouvoir l’accès à l’éducation pour les femmes et les jeunes filles souhaitant faire carrière dans les médias et l’audiovisuel. Elle veut encourager et favoriser la professionnalisation de ces femmes et jeunes filles et leur permettre de se former pour intégrer le monde des media.

Convaincus que les femmes ont un rôle important à jouer dans la transformation du monde de l’audiovisuel vers un espace plus égalitaire, plus équitable et plus représentatif, nous voulons renforcer leur voix, leur donner accès à des postes clés dans ce secteur et contribuer à la création d’évènements culturels et de réseaux qui soutiennent l’égalité homme-femme.

Pour ce faire, Woman(s) se fixe
2 objectifs à court et moyen terme :

Développer, promouvoir et renforcer les capacités des femmes et des jeunes filles pour qu’elles s’intègrent dans tous les métiers des médias.
Faciliter les échanges et la mutualisation des compétences et l’expérience de nos membres et partenaires.

Et à long terme :

Défendre et démontrer l’importance de la place des femmes et l’égalité homme-femme dans les métiers des médias et autres, en France, en Europe et à l’international.
BAST8116

Les organismes de formation

Pour commencer son action, WOMAN(s) a pris la décision de centrer ses efforts sur 5 pays : La France, l’Afrique du Sud, Le Brésil, l’Inde et le Liban. Les personnes ciblées sont des femmes et des jeunes filles souhaitant poursuivre des études dans l’audiovisuel. Nous privilégierons les femmes défavorisées, provenant de milieux sociaux modestes, ayant des niveaux d’études minimes. Des comités multiacteurs composés de membres des institutions académiques, de représentants des organisations de la société civile, et de professionnels de l’audiovisuel, seront créés pour l’identification des bénéficiaires ainsi que pour le suivi des projets dans chaque pays.

Les changements attendus

Nous espérons contribuer à :

UN MONDE DE L’AUDIOVISUEL AVEC PLUS D’ÉGALITÉ ENTRE LES GENRES

où de nombreuses femmes de tout milieu social occupent des postes éditoriaux et des postes de techniciennes à la télévision, à la radio, et au cinéma.

UN MONDE OÙ LES ACTUALITÉS DES FEMMES SONT DIFFUSÉES PAR CELLES QUI SONT LE PLUS DIRECTEMENT CONCERNÉES

où les femmes couvrent des thèmes politiques et scientifiques tout autant que les hommes.

UN MONDE OÙ LES FEMMES SONT CONSIDÉRÉES POUR LEUR CAPACITÉS

de présentatrice et de reporter au-delà de leur apparence physique et de leur âge.

UN MONDE OÙ LA VOIX DES FEMMES PREND TOUTE SON AMPLEUR ET SA LÉGITIMITÉ

pour influencer les normes sociales et promouvoir dans tous les milieux (sociaux, professionnels, académiques) l’égalité des genres.

Faire un don

DON ENTREPRISE

DON ENTREPRISE

 
Sélectionnez le mode de paiement
Informations personnelles

Information de carte bancaire
Paiement sécurisé par SSL.

Total du don : 100,00€ One Time

{amount} donation plus {fee_amount} to help cover fees.

DON PERSONNEL

DON PERSONNEL

 
Sélectionnez le mode de paiement
Informations personnelles

Information de carte bancaire
Paiement sécurisé par SSL.

Total du don : 100,00€ One Time

{amount} donation plus {fee_amount} to help cover fees.

Si vous avez des questions, notre service donateurs est à votre disposition pour répondre.